1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Just as a friendly reminder, in order to post a new thread or update your status, you have to post at least 5 messages on the forum. This is to help us reduce the amount of spam bots posting on the forum. Enjoy your time :)

SD Card Can't be Read?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ultra Kart Racer IV, May 9, 2011.

  1. Ultra Kart Racer IV *flashes badge*

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,658
    Location:
    Wright Anything Agency, People's Park, LA
    Nintendo Network ID:
    Oxymoron32GB
    Friend Code:
    3952-7056-2553
    Every time my 3DS' SD card is put in the computer I use, a message pops up saying the thing is "Damaged" even though the card works perfectly.
    Does anyone know why this happens?
    (If this helps, the computer is a Mac running OS 10.5.8)
  2. cloud8521
    Goomba

    Member Since:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Message Count:
    414
    Location:
    Canada Ontario
    have you tried it on a windows or Linux pc? or it could just be your SD card reader on the computer
  3. Ultra Kart Racer IV *flashes badge*

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,658
    Location:
    Wright Anything Agency, People's Park, LA
    Nintendo Network ID:
    Oxymoron32GB
    Friend Code:
    3952-7056-2553
    I tried it on Windows XP and it says it can't be recognized.
  4. cartman91

    Member Since:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Message Count:
    466
    Location:
    Ireland
    Maybe format it, or else maybe the lock button is pressed or whatever?.. The lock button is on the side of the SD card..
  5. Ultra Kart Racer IV *flashes badge*

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,658
    Location:
    Wright Anything Agency, People's Park, LA
    Nintendo Network ID:
    Oxymoron32GB
    Friend Code:
    3952-7056-2553
    I tried moving the lock slider and putting the card in. The Mac still said the same thing; something about the disk being unreadable.
    On Windows, two little windows popped up with the word AutoPlay on top of them.
  6. Someone Grammar Cop

    Member Since:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,014
    Location:
    Tazmily Village
    Friend Code:
    50XX-XXXX-XX18
    Do you have it formatted to FAT16 or FAT32? It isn't compatible with FAT32, or at least as far as I know, so that might be why.
  7. Ultra Kart Racer IV *flashes badge*

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,658
    Location:
    Wright Anything Agency, People's Park, LA
    Nintendo Network ID:
    Oxymoron32GB
    Friend Code:
    3952-7056-2553
    I'm not sure what format its in.
    The Mac says it isn't formatted for some odd reason.
  8. Someone Grammar Cop

    Member Since:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,014
    Location:
    Tazmily Village
    Friend Code:
    50XX-XXXX-XX18
    Where did you check to see if it was formatted?
  9. Ultra Kart Racer IV *flashes badge*

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,658
    Location:
    Wright Anything Agency, People's Park, LA
    Nintendo Network ID:
    Oxymoron32GB
    Friend Code:
    3952-7056-2553
    I put it in my Mac, and a window saying the SD card is unreadable came up with three options:
    eject, ignore, and initialize.
    I clicked on initialize and after a bit of searching, I found the option to format the card.
    If it does turn out my SD card is damaged, I'm going to buy a new one and format my 3DS' System Memory. It that's done, will the format change?
  10. Someone Grammar Cop

    Member Since:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,014
    Location:
    Tazmily Village
    Friend Code:
    50XX-XXXX-XX18
    Oh, it's on the computer? This is in the wrong section, then! I don't really know about it on the computer.

Share This Page